Preggers Week 6

by

I had my first doctor’s appointment last week and I am indeed pregnant. I’m six weeks pregnant (approximately) today. One thing I didn’t know about this whole “how far along are you” business is that it’s 40 weeks (approximately) from the day of your last menstrual cycle. Which means there are definitely two weeks in there where you are not pregnant.

There’s also the whole bit about when you ovulate and when the sperm fertilizes the egg, and egg not having implanted yet and you can’t be pregnant until implantation. Even after that there is this whole transition from embryo to fetus which is the most high risk time for miscarriages.

So, I have two weeks left until the embryo starts to transition to a fetus, that happens between weeks 8 – 12. The first trimester ends at week 13, and if I have not had a miscarriage by then the chances of miscarriage are significantly reduced – although the physical complications from a second trimester miscarriage are significantly more.

Weight wise I am bouncing around like a ping-pong ball. In the last week I have been as low as 198.6 and as high as 203.4. I know the reason for this is that I have become a total salt addict. I cannot get enough hot pickled pepperoncini peppers and roasted sea weed. I know I need to back off of them, that they are not good in the quantities I am eating them. These are definitely the most powerful food cravings I have had. So I’m struggling to control them.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

