Happy Birthday To Me!

by

This past weekend was my birthday, and it had me a bit on edge. Not the actual getting older bit, I’ve had lots of practice at that now. It was the whole celebration = food thing that really had me not looking forward to it.

In my experience celebrations have always involved food, and if the birthday girl says she doesn’t want cake because she is watching what she is eating then it seems to let everyone down, which is not a great way to celebrate a birthday. Still, I’m happy, mostly with the way I am eating and I don’t want to change it. Not to mention when I do change it I feel awful and usually get sick.

I wanted to find a way to still have some of the traditional celebration = food and for birthday that means cake without giving myself bad physical side effects and feeling like I had let myself down. It took a bit of GoogleFu, but I found a cake recipe that has no grains, dairy or sugar. My awesome partner who does all of the baking in our house made his first 100% from scratch cake and it was great.

It’s not a “cake” consistency. It’s somewhere between a very rich dark creamy chocolate bar, a fudge or a solid dense brownie. But it IS delicious.

Here is the recipe: Primal dark chocolate raspberry cake.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

