The generosity of plus sized clothes

by

Plus sized clothes are very generous and forgiving. This is a good thing and a sometimes a tiny-bit of a bad thing. Most of the clothes I wear on a regular basis were purchased when I was around 220 lbs. Which is a weight I have been sitting at for a couple of years now. At this weight I am approximately a size 14.

I noticed that at nearly 240 lbs I could still wear all of these clothes, but the pants were getting tight and the sweaters were not hiding my belly as much as I like. I also know that at 200 lbs I can wear the same clothes and they are simply a bit looser giving me a bit of an illusion of a flat belly.

So, basically my plus sized clothing has a range of at least 40lbs, possibly 60 lbs. The good part about that is that I don’t have to buy clothes for each 10 lb increment. The tiny-bad part about it is that I don’t have to buy clothes for each 10 lb increment which means it requires significant weight loss to actually cue anyone that I have changed sizes.

There is another major benefit to plus sized clothing, its cut differently than clothing in ‘regular’ sizes. Tops are generally longer, bottoms have a bit of elasticity. This is flattering because when the body is not cut at the waist you don’t highlight the belly area.  This is one reason I’m not very sure if I ever really want to be lower than a size 12 mostly because I love the cuts of plus size clothes and hate how revealing I feel most ‘regular’ sizes are.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

