Frustrated

by

I have reached that inevitable point in any life style change, weight loss, diet, trying-to-do-something-new process where there is failure and now I am feeling frustrated by it.

It is a completely inconsequential failure, unless I let it have consequences.

After reaching my 20 lb goal, I have had an incredibly minor set back. A 1.2 lb set back to be precise.

I was prepared for this. In fact, I thought I was going to have a set back before I hit my goal since I had a whole weekend of eating out with our families. I was more than pleased when I managed to maintain through that. Then I hit my goal Рyay! Happy dance! And then the next day I gained 0.4 lbs, and then another 0.4 lbs and then another 0.4 lbs and I started to lose my calm, just a little bit.

Part of it was the weight gain, part of it was that I couldn’t explain the weight gain. I was keeping within my caloric range. On day one I had come close to max calories but not over and on day three I had had some alcohol, but not more than my daily calories worth.

What bothers me most is how bothered I am by all of this.

If I am going to make this healthy change permanent and not fail yet again I cannot let myself be so distressed by a measly 1.2lb gain. I need to look at the big picture. I need to remember that there are other factors of success like how I feel, how I am fitting into my clothes, my mood and energy levels.

So, this is my confession. I let myself be frustrated by a 1.2 lb gain that will likely not matter in a month. Now, I need to go live my life and make sure I stay committed to my goals and realize this is a very small trivial matter.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Frustrated”

  1. Easy Says:

    If you’re going to do daily weigh-ins, it can be helpful to enter them into a tool that will show you the overall trend so you can focus on that (and only get worried if the trend line starts going up) rather than the day to day stuff. Day to day weight is so variable based on how much water you drink, when you last pooped and where you are in your cycle that it’s really likely to cause these kinds of mental doubts often.

    • beaglesmuggler Says:

      Oh yes, I do that. I use Daily Burn Tracker that gives me trend lines, and will give me lines in various time lengths. It’s fair to say that even in the shortest time (7 days) that the trend line is pointing downwards… in the good direction…. that, of course, does not make me any less frustrated, because I’m just crazy obsessive that way. But at least I know I’m crazy… I mean, that helps… right?

Leave a Reply

