Loving my body

by

I no longer accept that fat equals unhealthy, ugly, lazy or any of the other negative adjectives that are foisted on fat people, and most of all on fat women. Increasingly I also question our perceptions of what is fat. While I don’t deny that I am fat, I am very aware that the social images of “slim” and “fit” are incredibly unhealthy themselves.

At the same time I am coming face to face with the realities that obesity does come with quality of life draw backs that could, if left unattended, become health problems. I am deeply skeptical now of the hysteria around the obesity epidemic, but I do not believe that the concerns about obesity are unfounded.

At my last physical I was given a clean bill of health. Everything is in working order and all of my blood, cholesterol and other levels are appropriate for a woman my age.

This could be a great reason to tell myself that all of my body concerns are in my head. That I am sucumbing to the relentless media drive that fat is bad.

After two years of reading an incredible amount of body size/ body image / feminist / media literacy literature it is difficult to reconcile wanting to lose weight / size with accepting a positive sense of self. What I am coming to terms with is the idea that focusing too much on the size acceptance can be harmful, maybe not as much or in the same way as obsessive dieting, but still harmful.

Recognizing what my body needs is about finding that balance which includes loving my body at the size and shape that it is and still honouring my body when it sends me signals that I need to do something to care for it, which may include losing weight.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Loving my body”

  1. martha84 Says:

    If you feel healthy both mentally and physically, then essentially you are, in my opinion. If you do not, though, then one should reevaluate their lifestyle and go from there. Society’s idea of thin=in shape and fat=unhealthy is just another unfounded proclamation from big budget pharmasuitical companies and other various companies that benefit from telling you that you are overweight and unhealthy therefor endorcing their product. The pursuit of a lifestyle of fitness is your choice, and as long as you feel good and like yourself, I’d say you are fit enough.

Leave a Reply

