Weeks 43 – 45: Not Good

by

Well I gave into the cliche and fell off the wagon over the Christmas holidays. Actually I didn’t do too badly in the week leading up to, and of Christmas, I sort of fell off on Christmas and then didn’t get back on through the rest of the week, or the new year’s week.

It’s been a fairly spectacular fall, right back to ordering too much high calorie, high fat, high carbs, low to no nutrition take away, not making it to the gym and generally doing nothing for myself on the health and wellness front.

What Have I Learned?

1. I have a new trigger for falling off the wagon: the week after. I’ve become good at planning for the stressful week, but I fall apart after I get through the crunch.

2. I was a lot heavier than I originally thought. When I began this back in February 2008 I new that I had grown out of all my size 16 clothes and some of my 18’s so that I could not even put them on, I was up to a size 20. I figured myself somewhere around 225 lbs based on an estimate that I was 205 lbs at a size 16 and adding 5 lbs for every dress size.

My size 14’s are a bit tight on me at the moment, but nothing to worry about with a week of exercise.

The surprise came a couple of days ago, while putting up a mirror and needing to know the weight of the mirror (wall load bearing) that I stepped on a scale to get my weight (then the mirror’s) and HOLY COW I was 217 lbs! ACK!

So, if I’m 217 lbs at a size 14, then when I was a size 20 if we round size 14 up to 220 lbs, and estimating 5 lbs per dress size that would put me at a whopping 250 lbs when I started this journey. I’ve looked at the pictures, and I have to say it’s not improbable.

3. If the food is going well, all is going well. Food tends to be the first area of failure for me. Once I resort to take away then I use it too often and too much of it. If I can keep the food on track, then I can keep myself on track.

What Success Have I Had?

1. I have not given up. This is a big thing for me. I have a long history of trying to loose weight January – March, giving up some time around April, maybe making a few half hearted attempts the rest of the year but generally rounding the next January heavier than I began. I have not had success 100% of the time. I have not gone from a size 20 to a size 6 in one year. I have however stayed with it, week by week, day by day, ups and downs and not given up on it for long for 9 whole months.

2. I am smaller than when I started. I will never know exactly how much I weighed when I began. I do know that a size 20 was beginning to stretch across my belly last February 2008, and now a size 14 is only slightly snug.

3. I can feel full, and have great meals at 2,000 calories and I have a lot more energy and feel much more positive when I am exercising I just need to stick with it, and I can. When I put my mind to it I can and have filled the house with great healthy food and made it to the gym on a regular basis. I have seen results.

The Crunchy Bits

Week 43
Week 11 Q3 – December 14 – December 20, 2008
Overall: 65%
Household: 124%
Health & Beauty: 4%
Finance: 86%
Career: 71%
Entertainment: 36%

Week 44
Week 12 Q3 – December 21 – December 27, 2008
Overall: 26%
Household: 52%
Health & Beauty: 43%
Finance: 19%
Career: 14%
Entertainment: 0%

Week 45
Week 13 Q3 – December 28 – January 3, 2009
Overall: 0%
Household: 0%
Health & Beauty: 0%
Finance: 0%
Career: 0%
Entertainment: 0%

Quarter 1:
April 2008 – June 2008
Overall: 55%
Household: 75%
Health & Beauty: 62%
Finance: 46%
Career: 36%
Entertainment: 53%

Quarter 2:
July 2008 – September 2008
Overall: 45%
Household: 63%
Health & Beauty: 55%
Finance: 34%
Career: 30%
Entertainment: 41%

Quarter 3:
October 2008 – December 2008
Overall: 60%
Household: 68%
Health & Beauty: 52%
Finance: 61%
Career: 67%
Entertainment: 50%

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

