Weekly Check-In: Weeks 32 & 33

by

I guess it’s not really a weekly check in if I forget to post it.

Week 32

I struggled with weather or not to count this week as a success. On the hard crunchy number I’m 15 calories over my daily average of 1500 cal/day. I’m usually a numbers ‘nazi’ to myself so a lot of my conscious mind is saying if I let the 15 calories slide then what will be next, 25 calories, 50, 100, 1,000!!! Stop the insanity here! Discipline yourself!

Then there is the other part that is saying that I’ve done the 4 workouts, the calories are averaged and I am diligent about logging EVERYTHING, I ate out a lot this week because of election stuff. Oh, yeah, and I’m in the middle of an election campaign, while job hunting, while getting interviewed for a co-op, while trying to pull together a national policy convention in less than 2 months, and re-drafting a provincial communications strategy in less than 2 weeks… in short. This is good progress with only 15 caloires, and many of the foods I ate out this week were averages and I did log everything.

So I’m going to say I’m okay, this week, because of the amount of guesstimating, and how hard it has been to stay on track to count this week as a success and say that I’ve met week 3 of 12’s obligation. This is also supported by doing better in my other goals this week.

This week also finishes of my 2nd quarter since I began tracking success on a life balance scale:

Quarter 1: April 2008 – June 2008

Overall: 55%
Household: 75%
Health & Beauty: 62%
Finance: 46%
Career: 36%
Entertainment: 53%

Quarter 2: July 2008 – September 2008

Overall: 45%
Household: 63%
Health & Beauty: 55%
Finance: 34%
Career: 30%
Entertainment: 41%

Quarter 1 was better than Quarter 2, but I can now have my high and low point and try in Quarter 3 to do at least better than Quarter 2.

Week 33

I made it through my busy week on calorie and with all the exercise in. This week I was working on the election every day with 2 all candidates meetings, 2 door-to-door canvassing commitments and 1 speaking commitment, I had 1 board meeting and 1 job interview and I still ate according to calories and exercised 4 times. If ever I feel like I am ‘too busy’ to meet my healthy living needs, then I need to refer back to this week.

I did better on my life balance goals as well getting most things I needed to do done. Although not all.

It’s the Thanksgiving weekend here in Canada, and our election is the day after Thanksgiving, so most of my family is putting off Thanksgiving until November when we can be wound down from the election.

Week 1 Q3 – October 5 – October 11, 2008
Overall: 75%
Household: 62%
Health & Beauty: 90%
Finance: 48%
Career: 76%
Entertainment: 100%

Bottom Line

I’m hanging on, I haven’t fallen off the wagon in the past couple of weeks, but I’m hanging on and struggling. I’ve completed week 4 of my 12 week phase II which is great, and I need to keep myself motivated to get to that half way mark.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

