Weekly Check-In – Week 23

by

I am so very very very (yes at least 3 very’s possibly more) happy to say that I met my goal of eating a daily average of no more than 1600 calories (1560 to be exact) last week, which means that I am officially finished phase I of my plan!

Congratulations to me! It took me 23 weeks to work my way from no exercise and eating a daily average of 3,000 calories; to working our 4 times a week, for 2 hours each session and eating a daily average of 1,500 calories from here on out until I reach my goals.

It’s actually kind of funny how now that I am here 23 weeks really hasn’t seemed like that long of a time, it’s gone by quite quickly and I have a lot to be proud of in that time. Not only have I gone back to the gym and gotten into a regular work out habit, I’ve managed to move that work out habit to an early morning start (for me 6am is early) and engage some friends in some regular sports as well. Slowly working my calories down has been a great approach as it’s given me a long time to get used to the reduced intake and I really haven’t felt hungry or deprived this whole time. I’m also eating much better, lots of organic, locally grown, whole grains, no packaged pre-prepared junk.

Most surprising for me has been the physical results. When I dove into a diet in the past I was always frustrated at how long it took for the numbers to go down and then how slowly they progressed. Focusing on the weight always took the focus off the physical results and nothing came fast enough.

This time I can’t believe that I am already a size 14 close to a size 12 this early in my plan. Okay, yes it’s 23 weeks, but I think focusing on the process and what it really takes to make this a long term commitment to myself, from that perspective 23 weeks really doesn’t seem like all that much. I continue to be blown away that my body has responded so quickly and so well to the changes I made.

This past week in particular I did let some of my life balance goals slide out of control. I made absolutely no progress on my finances or my career. I did however achieve a major milestone on my health (95%), kept up my household goals respectably (71%) and didn’t let my reading / social life fall apart (67%). Overall not a bad week (even taken as a slice by itself), and a terrific week if I look at the larger picture. I think I needed the extra time and energy to put into my health with the end of the phase I goal in sight to make sure that I pushed myself across the finish line and did not sabotage myself.

So, here I am. Officially starting phase II of my plan! Wow! Can’t believe this day / week is here!

For the next 12 weeks (or more) I will be trying to build 12 consecutive weeks where I eat a daily average of not more than 1500 calories and exercise at least 4 times per week for 2 hours per day.

If I miss this goal for one week then I deduct half of the weeks completed to date. I expect this will take me longer than 12 weeks to complete, I will be happy if it takes me less than 24 weeks to complete.

Onwards and upwards here we go! This week I try to complete my first of 12 weeks on phase II.

Week 5 Q2 – July 27 – August 2, 2008
Overall: 45%
Household: 71%
Health & Beauty: 95%
Finance: 0%
Career: 0%
Entertainment: 67%

Running Weekly Average
Overall: 52%
Household: 72%
Health & Beauty: 53%
Finance: 36%
Career: 34%
Entertainment: 68%

Quarter 1:
April 2008 – June 2008
Overall: 55%
Household: 75%
Health & Beauty: 62%
Finance: 46%
Career: 36%
Entertainment: 53%

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

