Good Question

by

My cousin is a public health nurse. She deals with people who are depressed, anxious, socio-paths… well generally people who have personality disorders and have trouble coping in the real world. She gives phenomenal advice that basically comes down to: if you aren’t happy and want to change your life, then you need to do that because no one is going to come along and do it for you.

One of the things I love about her advice is none of it is you should ________, it’s all questions. Questions that if I really want something bad enough I’ll have to answer. Here are some of my favourites:

What Are YOU Getting Out Of This?
What Do YOU Want?
What Can YOU Change?
Where Do YOU Want To Be?

Okay it’s a short list, but I fail to ask myself these basic questions often enough.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

